Does it matter where I get my degree?

In summary, the conversation discusses a high school student who has been accepted to the University of Western Ontario and is considering a double degree in business and mathematics. While the student is interested in abstract algebra, they are concerned about the strength of the mathematics department at UWO and how it may affect their chances of getting a job in investment banking. However, they acknowledge that their interests may change in the future.
wamozart
Hi forum,

I am a high school student who has recently been accepted to the University of Western Ontario. (UWO) My primary goal was to study pure maths at University of Waterloo and go to investment banking after Masters or Ph.D.

I have been exploring the UWO's website and soon got interested UWO's Business-Science double degree programme. Then I asked myself 'why not get a double degree in business and mathematics at UWO and work for IB firms for two years, pay for my debts and go to graduate school?'

But my concern is, it seems like UWO does not have a strong maths department as Waterloo.

However, I want to study abstract algebra at graduate school, and I highly doubt that abstract algebra is a quantitative discipline, so finance recruiters might not like that

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Why would you tie yourself down to abstract algebra when you don't know what it's about?

It's like saying you don't like blondes when you've only ever seen brunettes...or no women at all. ;)

Yes, I do realize that it is too early to narrow it down. I may change my mind, get interested in differential equations or statistics, and pursue it further. In that case, I wouldn't worry about getting a job in finance. But now I am considering any possibility that is likely to happen in my future.

Last edited:
wamozart said:
But now I am considering any possibility that is likely to happen in my future.

Good luck with that. :cool: