Building a Toy Car to Navigate a Course

In summary, the car needs to be able to go in a straight line for 5 meters, then turn around a cone and go back another 5 meters.
anthonyz
Hello, I need to build a toy car, that will perform the following task:
Go in a staight line for 5 meters, then follow a semi-circunference (or just turn 180 degrees, but not a about-turn) and go back another 5meters, the turning is around a cone:

_____________________________________ ---> boundaries

------------>------->-------\

-------------------cone ---> 0 |

----------< -----------<----/

I am supplied with a electrical engine, and 3 1.5V batteries, I am not allowed to use any other power source, however I can use pretty much any mechanical or electical device I desire (no remote controls, the car needs to perform on it's own)

I am aware that this is a very simple task, for engineering, but I am in my 1st year and have pretty much only had mathematical classes (calculus, linear algebra, phisics, computing etc) so I am not familiar with the electrical circuits that may accomplish this task...have been brainstorming mechanical solutions for a while now, but nothing really good has come up..

The problem is that the car needs to have 2 operating "modes" : go straight -- turn...and I need to be able to switch between these modes...

Any suggestions would be very welcome :)

Physics news on Phys.org
1] You could stick a long bar out the right side of the car that hits the cone and do a sharp turn - Batmobile-style. Just an idea for thinking outside the box.

2] You could use a cam to control the steering (see attached).

Attachments

• cam_steering.gif
    cam_steering.gif
    2.8 KB · Views: 467
can u send it via pm?i can't see the image...explain more on the 2nd way...seems interesting..