I hope I'm not bothering anybody here

• Thread starter Lars
  • Start date
In summary: In other words, the geometry of space is intimately related to the energy and momentum of matter.So, in summary, the question remains unresolved.
Lars
I have a question which has been bugging me for the last day or so. The problem is that I am a complete physics novice, and while I studied Mathematics a long time ago, I haven't used it in years and have forgotten most of it since. Which is why I hope that I'm not bugging you with this question. My questions is probably about something that is really trivial in quantum physics, but I can’t stop thinking about it.

If this is a stupid question just tell me so and it won’t bother me at all. And actually, I think this may actually be more of a philosophy question then a physics question.

Okay start here it is:

Imagine an object about a centimeter long up against a ruler. The end of the object is positioned at the 1 cm mark, the start of the object is at the 2 cm mark. Now push the object a little bit, say half the distance of the object. Now the object is at the 1.5 cm to 2.5 cm. I am probably not saying this well, but at a certain intellectual level the simple fact that I can move my object into a sort of space half again the size of my object implies that I can chop it at least in half.

Okay now imagine, hypothetically, that I can shrink in size, dwindling down and down into the sub-atomic level of size. I am now so tiny that right in front of me is a Quark, or if a Quark is not the smallest division of something matter-like or energy-like then whatever is. It is here that my question becomes relevant. I reach out my finger and nudge this Quark half the distance of itself in a direction.

This would seem to me to imply four possibilities.