Is Engineering Boring? High School Student's Perspective

• Engineering
  • Thread starter supernova1203
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineering
In summary: Memorization is important for some subjects, but it's not essential in engineering.the sleepless night, the huge course loads, the whole program is designed to be a sort of stress test,i welcome the difficulty and challenges, but the moment things get easy, or boring or repetitive and i lose interest...if I am not being challenged or stimulated enough i get very demoralized...This could be a problem in some cases, but in most cases studying engineering will be a very challenging and stimulating experience. The program is designed to be a sort of stress test and it is common for students to feel this way at first. However, if you don't feel challenged enough then you may get demoralized.
supernova1203
Im a high school student right now, my grades are certainly good enough, i have the intellect and aptitude and interest in physics enginering, mathematics etc...

but i was wondering in university when i go to become an engineer will the courses and studies bore me to death? I like solving new and interesting problems, challenging problems, tricky problems, problems that one would have to bash ones head against the wall for hours to figure out.

but what i don't like is boring problems iv solved already a dozen times before, studying the same thing over and over again and i don't like memorization(simply because its boring and I am not very good at it, if i was id have gone into biology)

I have the problem solving skills, the critical thinking, the analytic personality but i hate getting bored, it demoralizes me, i know engineering is challenging and iv heard the horror stories,the sleepless night, the huge course loads, the whole program is designed to be a sort of stress test,