Spherical shock wave propagation in liquids

In summary, the Electric Engineer is looking for a formula that relates the propagation velocity to time, as well as the pressure at the shock front. The physicist student from Hungary suggests trying a self similar or 'Taylor' solution, and also recommends looking for papers on underwater shock waves and water confined laser ablation.
Bpapdi
Dear topic mates!

I'm an electric engineer and physicist student from Hungary.

I looking for description of the spherical shock wave propagation in liquids. I need a formula which give the relationship between the propagation velocity and time. Additionally, I wonder the pressure at the shock front. Can you help me, where can I find informations? If you have a book or printed article, wihich contain relevant infomation, copy it to here, please.

Thanks, Bence

Physics news on Phys.org
Bpapdi said:
Dear topic mates!

I'm an electric engineer and physicist student from Hungary.

I looking for description of the spherical shock wave propagation in liquids. I need a formula which give the relationship between the propagation velocity and time. Additionally, I wonder the pressure at the shock front. Can you help me, where can I find informations? If you have a book or printed article, wihich contain relevant infomation, copy it to here, please.

Thanks, Bence

Welcome to the PF. What course is this for? What is the context of the question?

berkeman said:
Welcome to the PF. What course is this for? What is the context of the question?

The formulas are need for explain experimental results. The investigated waves (acoustic wave or shock wave?) are induced by laser removed metal particle in water.

I have already searched in articles and in books for the required function, but i can't find empirical formula.