How Can a PhD Physicist Find Better Paying Jobs in North East England?

• Thread starter GCarty
  • Start date
In summary, the person is a highly educated individual with a 1st class Physics degree and a PhD in condensed-matter physics. However, they are only earning £18,900 per year in their current computer programming job, which they have been in for 4 years. They are looking for better paid work in North East England, preferably more appropriate to their academic background. They have not explored many options and are hesitant to relocate. They have a CV available for more information. Other users suggest looking into data mining or pursuing a post-doc position for higher income potential. The person is open to jobs in other disciplines and mentions considering a PhD in the future. There may be limited technology companies in the North East of England, with more opportunities
GCarty
I have a 1st class Physics degree and a PhD, but I'm only earning £18,900 per year in my current computer programming job even though I've been in the job for 4 years (possible due to the company having cash flow problems last year).

Does anyone know how I could find better paid work in North East England, preferably more appropriate to my academic background? I don't want to relocate unless I have absolutely no alternative.

For more information, you can view my CV at gcarty (dot) awardspace (dot) com (slash) cv (slash) CV (dot) html .

Physics news on Phys.org
What options have you explored? Chances are that you can make more money (if that is your main goal) in another position, but chasing that goal might not be best for you in the long term.