Advice for Changing Careers - Economics to Math/Engineering/Statistics

• Thread starter KingSong
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Careers
In summary: I really enjoy my job as an actuary and I'd throw myself out the window if you made me do something I didn't like. In summary, the author of this post is considering changing careers and wants to know the opinions of people who are currently in the field. The author lists four career options and notes that for option 1, to pursue a master's in math you will certainly need to take further undergraduate courses in math, in particular courses in algebra, analysis, differential equations, geometry, etc. Option 3 would depend on what kind of statistics you have taken as part of your undergraduate degree in economics, in which case an additional course in advanced algebra may be sufficient for you to qualify for a masters program, depending on the
KingSong
Hi everyone. This is my first time posting but I've read a lot of what this forum has to offer. Good stuff all around. Anyway, to the point. I am working as an underwriter for an insurance carrier but I do not really enjoy the work all that much. It's kind of boring. I was thinking about changing careers and I wanted to hear the advice of people who are in the know. The three career choices I am thinking about, in order of preference are:

1.) Get a master's in math and teach at a community college.
2.) Get a second degree in engineering (most likely civil) with a focus on transportation.
3.) Get a master's in statistics and work as a statistician (possibly actuary).
4.) Just study for acturarial exams.

My undergraduate degree is in economics so I am short on science courses. I did take the calculus series and did very well, but no further maths. I am also 24, if that matters, and have no debt and a little bit of savings so it wouldn't be a huge burden financially.

I'd very much appreciate your thoughts on this and thanks to anyone who replies!

Physics news on Phys.org