Troubleshooting Solenoid Control for Pneumatic Slides

In summary, the conversation is about a new member inquiring about a basic issue they are facing with a pneumatic slide controlled by a double sol, 2 position valve tied to a safety relay's output. The slide stops when it reaches the top or bottom, but the issue may be due to using a 2 position valve instead of a double, 3 position valve. More information, such as a drawing of the system and the safety regulations that need to be met, is needed to provide a better understanding of the situation.
Stanley_Smith
:uhh: hey guys, I'm new in the field and I'm running into this basic problem that's giving a headache.
I got a pneumatic slide that's supposed to go up and down. It's controlled by a double sol, 2 position (I'm pretty sure that's the type of valve on the machine now). The valve power is tied to a safety relay's output. For safety issue, when the gate's opened, the output of the relay drop and so is power to the valve. This does not stop the slide from moving instantaneously; but the slide stops when it's either fully up or down. I think the problem's it's a 2 position valve. Am I on right? I think I should use a double, 3 position.

Thanks,
Stan

Engineering news on Phys.org
I'm not sure of your question. Can you post a drawing of the system, including the power sources, pneumatic circuits, etc.? Are you modifying an existing system for some reason, or designing it from scratch? What safety regulations are you supposed to meet?

Yeah, it's a bit confusing. By 'pneumatic slide', do you mean a piston whose movement is controlled by solenoid-operated pneumatic valves, or is the slide itself supposed to be some sort of valve? :confused:

1. What is a solenoid control problem?