Exploring Black Hole Physics: Questions & Uncertainties

In summary: Thanks for the reply! In summary, black holes are stable systems near their event horizons and are not capable of spontaneously evaporating.
jezz78
Hello, I am a newbie to these forums, so please be patient with me! OK, my first (but not only) problem is getting to understand Black Hole physics... I understand they (BHs) arise as solutions to the EFE's, and there are currently many efforts to tie in Quantum Theory in a consistent way which should be able to clarify our current models somewhat. Hawkings' proposed radiation due to the uncertainty principle is fascinating, my questions for today :- BHs always lose energy due to Hawking radiation which should be detected as +ve energy mode photons emitted away from the event horizon. Now, would this energy be seen as a continuous stream of energy (ie. consistent radiation around the whole sphere of the BH) or would it be "patchy" or variating (due to the uncertainty principle fluctuations and the gravitation field strength) causing areas of high / low energy loss? Also, is it possible that due to the uncertainty principle the BH could spontaneously shed a sudden very high amount of energy, which might be seen as a burst of radiation (and presumably a corresponding decrease in the BH's mass)? Basically my understanding of the undertainty principle is that it gives an upper-bound on certainty, but could this prevent a BH from shedding most or even all of it's mass in a single burst of Hawking Radiation, given the right conditions? I know micro-BHs will (in theory) evaporate very very quickly, could massive or supermassive BHs be able to evaporate in similar time scales or is this prohibited by the HR mechanism/ uncertainty bounds? Many thanks, apologies if I have been vague, if you wish I will ask my questions with equations rather than words.

Astronomy news on Phys.org