What is a Good Free LaTex Editor for OSX for Homework?

In summary, the conversation was about a physics/engineering undergraduate student who wants to learn how to type their homework in LaTex. They are looking for a free client for OSX that has troubleshooting and formatting capabilities similar to MS Word. The university has installed LaTexit, but it does not meet their needs for completing a homework assignment. The recommendation given was to check out TeXShop.
wil3
Hello! I'm a physics/engineering undergrad who is interested in learning to type my homework in LaTex (I have abysmal handwriting, so this would be beneficial to everyone)

Can anyone recommend a free client for OSX that will allow me a large degree of troubleshooting and formatting capability? Think MS Word for LaTex- something where I can easily review and troubleshoot lines of code, since I am a novice.

My university installed LaTexit on my computer, which seems like a good client, but it does not seem capable of doing the full formatting that would be needed to complete a homework assignment in it.

thanks very much!

Physics news on Phys.org
Check out TeXShop.

1. What is an OSX Latex Editor?

An OSX Latex Editor is a software program that allows users to create and edit documents using the Latex typesetting language on a Mac operating system.

2. Why should I use an OSX Latex Editor for homework?

An OSX Latex Editor is a great tool for creating professional-looking documents, especially for technical or scientific subjects. It offers a wide range of formatting options and is much more efficient for handling equations and mathematical symbols compared to traditional word processors.

3. Is an OSX Latex Editor easy to use?