Puzzled by A coupled system of PDEs

In summary, the speaker is seeking help with a system of three coupled linear second order differential equations involving constants A and B, and vector U. They have tried using Fourier transforms and finding eigenvalues and eigenvectors, but are unsure if they are missing anything. They are also considering using Mathematica's DSolve and NDSolve functions to solve the equations. They suggest using Mathematica as a tool for solving the system.
Dr_Noface
Sorry about the format, bit I have no knowledge of LateX.

A,B - are real constants

U=(Ux,Uy,Uz)

I have a system of three coupled linear second order differential equations

(di)^2(Ui) +A*Laplacian(Ui)+ B*di[Divergence(U)]

Note: The first term is not a sum.

0<z<H, while x & y can be any real number. I have some more boundary conditions, but I feel as if I'm nowhere close to that stage.

I'm pretty stumped. I tried Fourier transforming (in x & y) and end up with a system of six coupled linear ODEs. I can find the eigenvalues (they're the roots of a cubic equation), but solving for the eigenvectors is an awful algebraic exercise. Is there anything I'm missing?

Physics news on Phys.org
Dr_Noface said:
I'm pretty stumped. I tried Fourier transforming (in x & y) and end up with a system of six coupled linear ODEs. I can find the eigenvalues (they're the roots of a cubic equation), but solving for the eigenvectors is an awful algebraic exercise. Is there anything I'm missing?