A tad confused about gravitons

In summary: Higgs field, and have a mass itself.In summary, the Higgs boson is an excitation of a field that interacts with "massive" particles to give them mass. It doesn't handle interactions on its own, but does interact with other particles.
FysixFox
Gold Member
I'm a bit of a non-classical physics newbie here, so let me check my (rudimentary) understanding of some things first.

In quantum physics, there are the leptons, quarks, and bosons. All particles are excitations of a field. Bosons in particular are the fields that mediate different kinds of interactions between the lepton and quark fields, as well as, on occasion, between each other. The Higgs boson is special due to the fact that it doesn't handle interactions, but is instead an excitation of a field that interacts with "massive" particles, or rather (more accurately) interacts with them to give them mass. (correct me if I got any of that wrong)

Then there's the elusive graviton. In my research, all sources have stated that the graviton itself mediates the interactions between particles, and behaves similar to light in terms of its mass, charge, and speed (0, 0, and c respectively). However, is this necessary? Couldn't the field itself be causing gravitational interaction, as in the case of the Higgs, and couldn't the graviton merely be an excitation of that field? Or is there a detail I've missed? Alternatively, did I read into this wrong and it really is the field that does the interacting?

Please keep your pitchforks, torches, and assorted angry mob items at home. ;) I'm kind of diving into all this stuff immediately after learning classical physics without much of a guide. :P

Physics news on Phys.org
The Higgs boson is special due to the fact that it doesn't handle interactions, but is instead an excitation of a field that interacts with "massive" particles, or rather (more accurately) interacts with them to give them mass. (correct me if I got any of that wrong)