Calculating Water Flow from Burst Pipe in Chicago

In summary, the conversation revolved around estimating the amount of water that was dumped on the roof of a public building in Chicago due to a broken pipe. The relevant information included the diameter of the burst pipe, water temperature, and pressure. The water flowed for 45 minutes before being shut off, and the break allowed water to flow freely from a 3/4 inch diameter opening. The formula for this calculation, specifically using Bernoulli's equation, was requested in order to make the estimation.
berniebs
A pipe broke on the roof of a public building here in Chicago. Although I am an electrical engineer and very rusty on hydraulics and water flow, I have been asked to estimate the amount of water dumped on the roof of this building, as follows:

Diameter of the burst pipe: 3/4 in.
Water temperature: 130 degr F
Pressure: 15 lbs

Water flowed for 45 minutes before being shut off. I assume the break allowed water to flow freely from a 3/4 in diameter opening.

I would appreciate it if someone can send me the formula for this calculation. I have searched a number of PF postings, without luck.

Thanks,

berniebs
berniebs@comcast.net

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

berniebs said:
… I have been asked to estimate the amount of water dumped on the roof of this building, as follows:

Diameter of the burst pipe: 3/4 in.
Water temperature: 130 degr F
Pressure: 15 lbs

Water flowed for 45 minutes before being shut off. I assume the break allowed water to flow freely from a 3/4 in diameter opening.

Hi berniebs! Welcome to PF! :smile:

Bernoulli's equation along a streamline (essentially, KE = work done ), assuming zero speed at zero pressure:
pressure + (density)(speed)2/2 = 0

and of course flow rate = speed x area.

(For details to impress your colleagues with, see the PF Library :wink:)