Trying to make a program to take and print the natural log of a number input

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem with a C program that calculates the natural log of a number entered by the user. The program consistently returns incorrect answers and the source code is provided for review. The conversation also briefly touches on the use of the "&" sign in scanf and printf functions.
DomBrown2406
I'm relatively new to C programming and I am trying to make a program to take and print the natural log of a number input by the user but for some reason my program always returns incorrect answers. For example I entered 1 as my number, and the answer came back as some ridiculously big value which is clearly wrong as I know that ln 1 = 0.
My source code is given below, any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Code:
#include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>

int main(void)
{
    float in;
    float out;    
    do {

printf("Enter the number to take ln of...\n");
    scanf("%f", &in);
    out = log(in);
    printf("Ln of %f is %f\n", &in, &out);
    printf("If you want to do this again press 1, if not press any other number\n");
    getchar();}
    while(1==1);
}

Last edited:
Technology news on Phys.org

DomBrown2406 said:

What & means?

Use [noparse]
Code:
[/noparse] tags to format your source code:

Code:
#include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>

int main(void)
{
   float in;
   float out; 
   do {
      printf("Enter the number to take ln of...\n");
      scanf("%f", &in);
      out = log(in);
      printf("If you want to do this again press 1, if not press any other number\n");
      getchar();
   } while(1==1);
}

The & sign is how my compiler knows what variable i want to use for %f etc.

Not exactly. & doesn't mean what variable, & means where the variable is. It is necessary when you use scanf, as scanf needs a reference to be able to put the value in the variable, but printf needs just a value.