Skewness, logarithm and reversing in statistics

In summary, the authors of the article discuss using a logarithm transformation on a negatively skewed distribution to enable parametric tests. This is a common method for normalizing data and making it compatible with certain statistical tests. The reverse of the data is necessary because the logarithm transformation will not correct a negative skew. However, not all parametric tests require a normal distribution, so it is possible that the authors felt that taking the logarithm and applying statistical tests could provide reasonable results.
Drudge
I need some advice,

What could it possibly mean, in an article I am studying, where the results of a test (visual-spatial working memory) in relation to a variable (Maths skills in kids) is being discussed as follows:

"The distribution of the variable was so negatively skewed, that it was reversed and then logarithm was used to enable parametric tests"

Of course these are in my own words (I´m reading in finnish), but I don´t think I have left anything important out. So I know what skewness and logarithm are, but I am puzzled about the reversing? Why would you reverse a distribution? To enable parametric tests? Why?

Physics news on Phys.org
I assume they mean that they "reversed" the data so that it had a positive skew, and then took the logarithm (a common transformation for normalizing positively skewed data).

Drudge said:
Why would you reverse a distribution? To enable parametric tests? Why?

I'll guess that the answer to that depends on the particular parametric tests that were used. What were they?

I don't know what "reverse" means. Did they define a new distribution g(x) by g(x) = f(-x) where f was the old distribution?

Number Nine said:
I assume they mean that they "reversed" the data so that it had a positive skew, and then took the logarithm (a common transformation for normalizing positively skewed data).