Explore the Chaotic Henon Attractors

• Thread starter MathAmateur
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Chaotic
In summary, the conversation discusses the process of finding a fixed point for Henon Attractors and the confusion about an extra term in the solution. The solution is to plug in x_b for x_t, y_t, and x_{t+1} and then subtract x_b from both sides to get a quadratic equation. The conversation also includes a question about inserting a new line in a Latex equation, to which the answer is using the symbol \\ for a new line.
MathAmateur
1. Homework Statement

I am studying Henon Attractors. The Henon map is recursively defined as follows:

[tex]x_{t+1} = a - x^2_{t} + by_{t}
y_{t+1} = x_{t}[/tex]

I am supposed to find the fixed point (may be unstable) that is contained with the chaotic behavior

The Attempt at a Solution

It is clear that to find the fixed point would be when [tex] x_{t+1}, x_{t}, y_{t} [/tex]
are all equal (Lets call them all [tex] x_{b} [/tex]). It seemed obvious to just plug in
[tex] x_{b} [/tex] and solve the quadratic, but the book had an extra term in the answer and I do not know where it came from:
[tex] -x^2_{b} + (b-1) x_{b} +a = 0 [/tex]. Where did the -1 in the b-1 term come from?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
If you just plug in x_b for x_t, y_t, and x_{t+1}, then the equation you get is exactly what the book says. Do your math again.

Oh, yes, the x_{b} on the left side is subtracted from the right to make it equal to 0. Duh!

Could you now how I insert a new line in the Latex equation? I can't seem to keep those two first equations from running together.

MathAmateur said:
Oh, yes, the x_{b} on the left side is subtracted from the right to make it equal to 0. Duh!

Could you now how I insert a new line in the Latex equation? I can't seem to keep those two first equations from running together.

The latex symbol for new line is \\

I did the following and got the following result:

x_{t+1} = a - x^2_{t} + by_{t} \\