Designing a Heat Pipe for an Indoor Solar Cooker: Tips and Fluid Recommendations

In summary, the heat transfer in a stirling engine is modeled as a steady state problem, after a period of time. The air temperature inside the pipe changes, due to the displacer moving the air back and forth between the heated and cooled ends.
a.mlw.walker
Hi,

I am studying the heat transfer in a stirling engine. The basic situation is a pipe blocked off at both ends, with air inside, and a displacer also inside, that moves backwards and forwards inside. It is not tight against the walls of the pipe, and air can pass around it.

One end of the pipe is heated, and so I have modeled the pipe hear transfer as steady state, after a period of time. So the insde wall temperature of the pipe varies along it but at any point the temperature is constant.

I am now interested in modelling the air temeprature inside, which changes because the displacer is moving the air back and forth between the heated end, and the cooler end.

I am reading Adrian Bejan's book on heat transfer, but I struggled to find a concluding equation for transient heat transfer, if anybody could help me with that.

For now I am saying the displacer is 100% insualted.

Using nodal analysis, please could anybody give me tips on how to go about modelling this with the displacer moving over time back and forth?

Thanks alot

Alex

Engineering news on Phys.org