Variation of parameters

by Hammie
Tags: parameters, variation
Hammie
Mar16-06, 10:00 AM
P: 111
I'm not currently in a class, but I'm doing this for fun.. but technically I would still call it coursework, so I'm posting it here..

I'm studying Redheffer/Sokolnikoff's Mathmatics of Modern Engineering.. and I find a problem on page 75, use the method of variation of parameters to find the solution of this equation:

Y` + 3Y = X^3

this one is easy enough to find the forced response by plugging in
Y= AX^3 + BX^2 + CX + D = X^3, and equating the coefficients.

The coefficients turn out to be A=1/3, B=-1/3, C=-2/9, D=-2/27.

This is the answer, but that's not my problem.

The variation of parameter method discussed in this section requires two linearly independant solutions to the homogenous equation,, of which I can only find one:

Y= Ke^(-3t).

Of course there is the trivial solution, but that would make the Wronksian in the denominator of the integrals zero.

For the life of me, I can't see how in the world one can use the variation of parameters method to solve this..

Is it perhaps a trick question? I'd email Sokolnikoff.. but he's long since left the world..

any ideas?
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Cougars' diverse diet helped them survive the Pleistocene mass extinction
Cyber risks can cause disruption on scale of 2008 crisis, study says
Mantis shrimp stronger than airplanes
Galileo
Mar16-06, 11:34 AM
Sci Advisor
HW Helper
P: 2,004
In the method of variation of parameters you let the constant(s) of integration be functions of the independent variable. In this case there is only one such constant (since it's a first order D.E.), so let y(x)=K(x)exp(-3x).

Now plug it in your differential equation and solve for K.
Hammie
Mar16-06, 12:18 PM
This is what this section is calling the method of variation of parameters:

[tex]Y(t) = -y_1 \int \frac{y_2 f}{W(y_1,y_2)}dt + y_2\int\frac{y_1 f}{W(y_1,y_2)}dt[/tex]