Register to reply

PhD in Cosmology = life in academia?

by jbunten
Tags: academia, cosmology, life
Share this thread:
jbunten
May26-08, 09:11 PM
P: 87
I find myself very interested in Cosmology and would consider doing a PhD in the field, however I am not sure if I would like to be an academic or not.

Given the relatively few technical applications of Cosmology, would it be wiser for me to enter a field with greater possibilities for entering industry?
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Wearable 4MM jetpack tested on speed, agility for runners (w/ Video)
How did evolution optimize circadian clocks?
Corn spots: Study finds important genes in defense response
makethings
May26-08, 09:51 PM
P: 94
I am an engineer that works in a place with a bunch of astronomers. Although I have a childhood interest in astronomy and I very much enjoy working on designing the machines they need, I can tell you that I would not actually want to become an astronomer. They use the telescope like 2 weeks in a year and the rest of the time they are on a computer analyzing their data. But I suppose you can also take your PhD and go work for a space agency or an astrophysics institute.
wildman
May26-08, 10:48 PM
P: 252
The defense industry uses a lot of astronomers. Not as astronomers of course, but the skills they learn in grad school are very useful to the industry.

will.c
May26-08, 11:44 PM
P: 374
PhD in Cosmology = life in academia?

If you want to do cosmology, I don't think there's a lot of people who do it professionally outside of universities. If you want to study cosmology, and get a degree that shows you have technical ability (as I understand it, cosmologists do a lot of programming and data analysis; these are highly transferable skills) then research it for a Ph.D.
clope023
May27-08, 09:07 AM
P: 620
Quote Quote by will.c View Post