Good textbook(s) for self-studying Quantum Physics

Meow12
Could you please suggest a good textbook for self-studying quantum mechanics? Not something too advanced. I have a math degree, so I'm not averse to equations.

Physics news on Phys.org
I think Ballentine is a reasonably good textbook.

Likes Meow12 and vanhees71
One of classics is Dirac’s in 1930 if you would enjoy literature and history.

Likes Meow12, vanhees71 and martinbn
anuttarasammyak said:
But hasn't quantum physics changed since Dirac?

Likes PeroK
He belongs to pioneers who established QM. I do not think the textbook is old or not exact in current standard. It is still printed now. I would add that I don’t recommend it for students who would use QM practically.

Likes Meow12
anuttarasammyak said:
Feynman had tried it while undergrad but soon he abandoned it as “too difficult” and turned to Pauling & Wilson’s.

Likes Meow12 and anuttarasammyak
Pauling & Wilson's was also a good book for me to apply QM in our real world. "Notorious" Dirac's book is commented in below linked radio broadcast at 47:00. I enjoyed it.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m000fw0p

Last edited:
Likes Meow12
Meow12 said:
But hasn't quantum physics changed since Dirac?
I'd say that quantum mechanics (non-relativstic quantum theory) has not changed in its foundations, but there's of course plenty of new insights in the last ~80 years. Nevertheless Dirac's book is amazingly up to date, and the Dirac formalism (prepresentation independent formulation with abstract operators and bras and kets) is the one, where you can most easily express the physical meaning and mathematical structure of the theory. Nevertheless, I'd recommend a more recent book. My favorite since I've learnt QM in the first theory lecture on the subject is

J. J. Sakurai and S. Tuan, Modern Quantum Mechanics, Addison Wesley (1993).