CFD: First Steps for Newbies - Pooven

• Thread starter Pooven
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Cfd
In summary: I couldn't find a definitive answer on which to base that statement.In summary, the steps to converting from a differential equation to an algebraic equation are to simplify the equation, convert to a Cartesian grid, and take derivatives. Once the grid is converted into computational space, the equations can be solved. The boundary conditions can be specified at the wall and end points of the domain.
Pooven
Hi there, I'm fairly new to Computation Fluid Dynamics and the engineering concepts as a whole. I believe CFD is generally a Chemical and Mechanical Engineering interest but I thought I'd post in this sub forum. I'd like to share what little I know and learn from others.

I understand that the basic idea is to model the continuous domain into a discrete domain usually by using a grid or mesh. I'm particularly interesting in the 3D discretization where the mesh is made up of http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hexahedral" (and perhaps other) geometries. So the first step is to define the geometries to be used.

I think, that the next step is to simplify the https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=6148" on Wikipedia for brief overview. Wikipedia refers to these as discretization methods.
I also read this tutorial which suggested the conversion from a differential equation to an algebraic equation (but it was within a 1D domain): http://courses.cit.cornell.edu/fluent/cfd/intro.pdf"

There is also a http://www.cfd-online.com/Wiki/Turbulence_modeling" that helps to describe the seemingly 'random' behaviour of particles.