Understanding superposition and entanglement

by martyscholes
Tags: entanglement, superposition
martyscholes
Sep29-10, 10:23 AM
P: 4
I am a newbie here, just an enthusiast with an above average understanding of math and physics, but exposed to QM after I left college.

I have looked through the posts and did not see a concise summary to the following. Please forgive me if I overlooked some threads.

There are some assertions I have which I want to verify are generally accepted to be true.
A. Measuring entangled particle A only impacts particle B by causing both to decohere where measured and both to go into superposition on a noncommuting measurement.
B. The no communication theorem states that measuring one entangled particle cannot provide measurable information to the other entangled particle.
C. There is no way to measure whether a particle is in superposition for a particular measurement.

Do I understand all of this correctly?

Many thanks,
Marty
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
Better thermal-imaging lens from waste sulfur
Scientists observe quantum superconductor-metal transition and superconducting glass
New technique detects microscopic diabetes-related eye damage
DrChinese
Sep29-10, 10:43 AM
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 5,146
Quote Quote by martyscholes View Post
Do I understand all of this correctly?

Many thanks,
Marty
Welcome to PhysicsForums, Marty!

Yes, I would say that you have it stated pretty well. I would comment on your A. that a measurement terminates the superposition and sends the particles into a mixed state, at least for non-commuting observables. Occasionally, you can observe entanglement continuing for commuting operators.
martyscholes
Sep29-10, 11:28 AM
Quote Quote by DrChinese View Post
Welcome to PhysicsForums, Marty!