Register to reply

Kinetic and Rotational energy of a sphere

by hyddro
Tags: energy, kinetic, rotational, sphere
Share this thread:
hyddro
Nov5-11, 10:45 PM
P: 59
Hi guys so this is my first time posting a question on this amazing forum, i hope i am doing this right since i read that no one will help me if i am missing something. Anyways, i am dealing with a physics problem that it driving me crazy (mainly because my teacher does not explain anything!) Here is the problem.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

An 7.50-cm-diameter, 320 g sphere is released from rest at the top of a 1.90-m-long, 20.0 incline. It rolls, without slipping, to the bottom.
b. What fraction of its kinetic energy is rotational?
So the known data is:
mass= 0.0320 kg
radius= 0.0375 m
delta x= 1.90m
wi = 0
vf = 3.02 m/s
wf = 80.5 rad/s
Find ratio between rotational and kinectic energies.

2. Relevant equations
Kroll = 1/2 (I* w^2) + 1/2(M)(vf)^2 = Krot + Kcm

3. The attempt at a solution
ok so from part A of the problem i found the velocity at the bottom of the incline to be 3.02 m/s, then i found the final angular velocity. With that all i thought i had to do was plug the data into the previous equation and get an answer:
Since moment of inertia of a cylinder is 2/5MR^2

Kroll = 1/2 (2/5 ) (0.032kg)(0.0375m)^2 ( 80.5 rad/s)^2 + 1/2 ( 0.032 kg)(3.02 m/s)^2

I am getting 0.204 for the Kroll and for the Krot i am getting 0.06... when i devide 0.06/0.204 i get 0.3 which is not the answer :( i have no idea what am i doing wrong! please help me, this homework was due 2 days ago, i am just doing it to understand the concept no for the points, so i would really appreciate your help, wonderful people, thanks!
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
FIXD tells car drivers via smartphone what is wrong
Team pioneers strategy for creating new materials
Team defines new biodiversity metric
SammyS
Nov5-11, 11:18 PM
Emeritus
Sci Advisor
HW Helper
PF Gold
P: 7,808