Why is the strength of weak nuclear force important ?

In summary: This is due to the fact that neutrons are slightly heavier than protons, so they are more likely to decay into protons. However, the overall balance of particles in the universe is still maintained due to other processes, such as fusion in stars, which can create heavier elements from lighter ones. This helps to explain the relationship between the mass of particles and their present numbers in the universe.
thatoekhant
I am just a student. I read that if the strength of weak nuclear force were stronger than current value, this would cause the rarity of neutrons. And, if the strength of weak nuclear force were weaker than current value, this would cause most of hydrogen to convert to helium. I can't understand those statement. Why ? Please !

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, the weak force is responsible for the beta decays. Thus, a larger coupling constant would result in reduced lifetimes of the decaying particles - e.g. the neutron.
The beta decay also plays a role in the fusion process H + H -> He.
In the 1st step, a deuterium nucleus will be formed
p + p -> p + n + positron + neutrino
So, a beta+ decay of the proton is involved. A higher coupling constant would increase the fusion H + H -> He

Last edited:
Thanks. But, some say that if there were rarity of neutrons, number of helium atom would be rare during big bang. But, I think even if there had not been sufficient heliums and only hydrogen atoms exists, formed stars would have converted hydrogens to helium by changing a proton to a neutron so helium will not be rare anyway. That will make the production of heavier elements without problems cos there are helium atoms produced by stars by converting hydrogens to helium. So, I think rarity of helium atom during big bang is not a problem. Is that right ? Please !
Thanks in advance.