2-D Unsteady State Heat Conductivity

In summary, the conversation is about using finite element analysis for solid materials, specifically for time-dependent heat conductivity in 2-D. The speaker is a computer scientist seeking assistance in translating a 2-D steady-state heat conductivity code to an unsteady-state version using explicit Euler time marching. They also mention using a preconditioned conjugate gradient solver and their interest in Gaussian quadrature in relation to time-marching algorithms for FE solutions. They are seeking a simple 2-D unsteady state algorithm and any assistance or explanation would be greatly appreciated.
dinaharchery
Hello all,

I am not an engineer but am trying to learn finite element analysis for solid materials - in particular heat conductivity for time dependent problems in 2-D for a single material. I am interested in the explicit Euler time marching, thus I believe I need a lumped capacity matrix?

I have finished a C++ program using 2-D Steady state heat conductivity, it is very simple (as I said I am not an engineer). Can anyone assist me in translating a 2-D code for steady state heat conductivity to a unsteady state (time dependent) version? Small words please :smile: , I am a computer scientist.

Thanks for any help.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Any idea at all? A simple 2-D unsteady state algorithm?

Thanks again

How exactly does your steady-state code compute the solution? Many solvers like this use some sort of pseudo-time, whether you want to call it iterations, or time-steps or whatever.

The steady-state code uses a preconditioned conjugate gradient solver, so the solver itself is iterative. I would like to use the explicit euler time marching algorithm but I currently do not have a lumped capacity matrix.