A dilemma between two multivariable calculus books

In summary: I recommend Shifrin's Multivariable Mathematics. It is a bit more theoretical, but has beautiful and intuitive treatment of forms, rigorous proofs, and cares about how to compute things. It also has a good treatment of the Gauss curvature.I recommend Hubbard's Vector Calculus. It is a bit more practical, but has a great treatment of the Gauss curvature and is very intuitive.
mr.tea
Hi,

I am a math major, and currently studying vector calculus. Since I am feeling that I don't really learn it properly, I am going to re-learn it again in the summer.
I would like to improve both my theoretical and computational skills. I am also searching for a book that starts from the beginning to deal with differential forms, and a book not full with physical interpretations since I am poor at physics.

My background is two courses of linear algebra, single variable calculus, and multivariable calculus of real-valued function(from the limits function of several variables up to triple integrals).

After a long search, I am considering(at the moment) two books:
1. Multivariable mathematics by Shifrin.
2. Vector calculus, by Hubbard.

But not sure which is preferred(or neither of them).
Unfortunately, both contain linear algebra chapters which are not necessary for me.

I will be grateful to hear any suggestion/advice about that.

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Sadly, I do not have access to Shifrin's text, but I know other of Shifrin's texts and they're all pretty good. So I doubt you can go wrong with it.

But anyway, I'm a big fan of Hubbard. Hubbard contains linear algebra, multivariable calculus in ##\mathbb{R}^n##, manifolds, some differential geometry and differential forms. Here are some of the strenghts of Hubbards book: