Advices for a career in high energy physics

In summary, a student who wants to pursue a career in high energy physics should study abstract algebra, classical mechanics, quantum mechanics, and statistical physics.
oyolasigmaz
Hi everyone--

This is my first post here, and I don't want this thread to look one of those that is created on every forum resulting on google, helplessly seeking help. I have been reading this forum for some time, and I guess I can ask for some academical advice and guidance. I believe it is going to be a little long, because I will try to go into detail.

I'm a mathematics student, double majoring in physics, and planning to pursue an academical career in high energy physics, and specifically, in a mathematically rigorous part of it. I want to go to a god-tier instutition when I graduate from here, so I try to plan what I need to do beforehand. I am currently a sophomore, I have had some common core courses the last year that set me off -in my opinion at least- a little bit, but it is a university policy anyways. My university does not offer every course I wish to take, so I have to plan indepent studies, or go to another school around to take such courses. My first question is, what should I learn, before grad school, to be ready for high energy physics? I thought of some as:

Lie algebras (for representations of elementary particles)
Differential geometry and relativity (I think I won't really need differential geometry other than relativity, so a combined course might be nice)
Functional analysis
Operator algebras (if I can finish up with functional analysis early)

What else should I learn before going to grad school? Another thing is, I plan to finish the college in 3.5 years; but is it something good or bad with options like:

-3.5 years, as quick as possible. A few extra courses about what I wish to pursue, and that's it.