Advices/help for mouldable crankcase in Solidworks (assembly+screens)

• Thread starter Jperf
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Solidworks
In summary, a student from France in Mechanical Engineering is seeking advice on Solidworks software for a project involving a rising screw assembly and a moulded crankcase. Their design appears to be correct, but they are unsure if the crankcase is mouldable with the necessary cores. They are also concerned about potential issues with the movement of the wheel and screw.
Jperf
Hello, I am new here, I am a student from France in Mechanical Engineering, I need some advices/help in Solidworks software, here is the deal (sorry if it's the wrong section) :

I am currently designing an assembly for a rising screw (yellow on the sheme) the only possible movment for it is translation,the wheel (red) is holding this thing.
Around,I made a moulded crankcase I'd like you to tell me if it's mouldable with some cores and if I made mistakes in my assembly. Here is my work:

http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/1488/88436881.th.jpg http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/1887/66752903.th.jpg http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/2799/95830873.th.jpg http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/2339/26045421.th.jpg

http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/5634/sanstitreim.th.jpg moulded crankcase

Sorry for my english and thank you for reading and helping me.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
It looks like the design of your assembly is correct. The only suggestion I have is to make sure that there is enough room for the wheel and the rising screw to move freely. If there isn't enough space, you may have to make some adjustments to the geometry of the parts in order to make sure they don't bind or jam. As far as the moulding goes, it's hard to tell without seeing the actual part, but if you can create the necessary cavities and cores, then the part should be able to be moulded.