Aerospace Engineering job roles?

In summary: Its hard to not design something that can be slapped on a tank or a submarine. There were scientists studying the glide angle of birds and their wings curvature. Next thing you know, they made a B2 stealth bomber from those studies and 'few' other things. Do you want to design a new high capacity plane for long economic flights?No problem, let's design the 747 they said, next thing you know. The army slapped a huge laser beam on the front, I bet you can dish out some great 1 way tickets from that thing :wink: What about launching satellites into a high orbit. Sounds innocent? Well let's put some warheads instead and make it into an ICBM.Do
xJJx
Hi guys, I'm looking to study aerospace engineering at university but I'm concerned with how defence orientated the industry is - so I've heard. I read that even if I work in the civil sector, the tech I design for that can be used in defence tech, which I REALLY don't want. I know companies like Pratt and Whitney design components that companies like Boeing buy for both civil and defence purposes. But can anyone list any aerospace engineering job roles that cannot involve defence in any way? I'm conducting my own research on this but I thought i'd also ask people in the field.

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not in the aerospace industry, but if you really think about it, just about anything that is engineered for a civilian purpose can be used in the defence industry eventually. Once you develop something and make it available to the general population, it's out there for the general population to do with as general populations will do. For better or for worse. (One could argue that the defence industry itself perhaps has the tightest control over what technology developed within the field gets used for, but even in the long term, eventually even that technology can leak out into the rest of the world.)