Airflow Calculation Help: Velocity, Temp, Pressure, Diameter

In summary, The conversation discusses the calculation of gas flow through the main stack of a cement plant and the necessary equations and measurements needed to calculate the normalised flow. The measurements mentioned include velocity, temperature, differential pressure, diameter, and moisture content. The participants also discuss the composition of the flue gases and the importance of pressure and temperature in the calculation. They also mention the use of handheld meters and transmitters for taking measurements and the need for accuracy in the readings.
Gardiner
Hi,
I am new to the use of forums and have no experience in airflow but I was looking for some help with the calculation of the gas flow through the main stack of a cement plant, the measurements I have at the moment are as follows
Velocity= 12.5m/s
Temperature= 120°C
Differential pressure= 0.9mbar
Diameter= 3m
I am looking for what equation/equations I need to calculate the normalised flow and if I need more measurements
Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks
Mark

Engineering news on Phys.org
Is this a forced draught or a natural draught stack ?

Hi Nidum,
It would be forced draught as it's the emissions from a cement plant,the other measurement I have is the moisture content which was 18.4%
Mark

Last edited:
I've just looked at some pictures of cement plant stacks and I see that they are generally very tall .

So what we have is probably mainly forced draught plus some additional component of natural draught . We may not actually have to use this information directly but always best to understand the complete problem from the outset .

Where and how are the pressures measured ?

Where and how is the flow velocity measured ?

What is the composition of the flue gasses ? Mainly just air or is there significant admixture of other gasses / water vapour / particulates ?

Why isn't this just velocity divided by area?

Nidum said: