An anomaly in high-impedance inductors

In summary, you have been testing coils for your motor design and have noticed that when you wind a coil of high inductance and attach it to a load, the generator rotor increases in speed. You think this is due to a delay in the time constant of the inductor, which allows the CEMF to help rather than hinder the rotor acceleration.
magnetite
Hello, first post here,

my passion is electric motors, wind turbines, etc ... yes i am very boring !

I've been testing coils for my motor design for a couple of years now.

I've written my own software to predict inductance, etc as well as the physical properties of the coils.

I've recently noticed something that has me a bit puzzled, though i think i am now coming to an understanding of it.

When i wind a coil of very high inductance (on the order of 5 Henrys plus) and attach it to a load for testing, the generator rotor increases in speed and the input current goes down (i am powering the generator with a bench PSU, in its final instance i plan it to be run from diesel).

For a while this puzzled me, until a friend pointed out that a coil of high inductance will increase the time constant.

The time constant of an inductor being :

TC = L/R1+R2

Where :

TC = Time Constant
L = Inductance
R1 = DC Resistance of coil
R2 = DC Resistance of load.

The TC equates to about 63% of the risetime and in 5 TC's the risetime is around 98%.

This means we can control the timing of the counter-electromotive-force by varying the coils self-inductance.

This in turn means that we can retard or delay the equal and opposite reaction dictated by Lenz's Law.

I think what is happening (i don't yet own an oscilloscope) is that the risetime of the inductor is delayed enough so that the CEMF is helping the rotor acceleration rather than hinder it.