Are emotions physical? Is imagination tangible?

In summary: I am trying to figure out if there is such a thing as "the absence of material"I was under the impression that there is no perfect vacuum whereby one can find no material... if there were such a vacuum wouldn't even the surrounding borders be material?I am trying to determine if emotions, imagination, thoughts or consciousness fall into the category of "absence of material"I don't think so, but I'm not an expert. I would need to read more about it. :) Peace,
Asia
Are emotions a product of biochemical releases? Is imagination a product of thought? Are thoughts and consciousness the same thing?

I am trying to figure out if there is such a thing as "the absence of material"

I was under the impression that there is no perfect vacuum whereby one can find no material... if there were such a vacuum wouldn't even the surrounding borders be material?

I am trying to determine if emotions, imagination, thoughts or consciousness fall into the category of "absence of material"

I hope I'm making sense...

Peace,
Asia

Physics news on Phys.org
Asia said:
Are emotions a product of biochemical releases? Is imagination a product of thought? Are thoughts and consciousness the same thing?

I am trying to figure out if there is such a thing as "the absence of material"

I was under the impression that there is no perfect vacuum whereby one can find no material... if there were such a vacuum wouldn't even the surrounding borders be material?

I am trying to determine if emotions, imagination, thoughts or consciousness fall into the category of "absence of material"

I hope I'm making sense...

Peace,
Asia

Emotions, imagination, thoughts, and consciousness are things that don't take up space. They have no extension in the three dimensional world. To talk about "perfect vacuums" doesn't seem to apply here because then we're talking about three dimensional areas of space (even if they contain nothing).