Are we heavier during the day? (Thought experiment/want answer)

• Thread starter xwolfhunter
  • Start date
In summary: I will correct it. In summary, the experiment suggests that the force of gravity is stronger than the centripetal force.
xwolfhunter
Sorry for the ineloquent title, I had some space issues.

First, a little backstory, as this is my first post and I'm new to the realm of physics.

I am currently taking an AP physics class at my high school, and as I am also taking AP calc, I got interested in some of the historical figures responsible for these branches of reasonable thought. After a while, I got into Galileo, and am reading his Dialogue Concerning the Two Chief World Systems. As I was reading this earlier this evening, a sentence about the natural state of the Earth sparked my imagination into asking this question: What if people at some point in time thought that gravity was explained by a constant upward motion in the ground, before it was proven that the Earth is spherical? This got me into thinking about the effects of actual Earth movement on the forces we experince, and I came to a question: How do our relative gravities change throughout the day (excluding the presence of the moon, since I can't visualize that too and wanted this to be a simple thought experiment)?

Basically, since I'm sure this has been thought of by every physics major after learning about centripetal force and gravitational force, the two forces that I thought applied to the situation, I thought I'd come here to see if I'm right. So here I shall propound (a word I picked up from the Galileo book :) my thoughts on the subject:

First, I decided to exclude all points on the globe except for the equator, since it was the easiest to visualize and I thought the experiment would apply to all infinitely small horizontal slices of the earth, except for of course the points at the equators.