Assignment Operator Overloading Question

In summary, the conversation is about a program that demonstrates the use of operator overloading for assignment. The code includes a member function that returns a reference to NumberArray and uses the dereference operator to return data stored in a pointer. The conversation also touches on the use of the delete operator to free up memory and the potential for memory leaks if not used correctly. The need for returning a reference and deleting memory on the heap is explained in the context of the program and its potential variations in array sizes. Overall, the conversation provides insight into the importance of properly managing memory in a program.
MinusTheBear
Hey everyone. First I am new to programming (so my vocabulary and skills are not very proficient with C++), and I'm learning operator overloading. I have questions about line 1 and lines 5-8 of this code.
Mod note: changed quote tags to code tags to preserve indentation.
C:
NumberArray& NumberArray :: operator=(const NumberArray &right)
{
    if (this != &right)
    {
      if (arraySize > 0)
      {
          delete [] aPtr; // this is a pointer defined in the class
      }
      arraySize = right.arraySize;
      aPtr = new double[arraySize];
      for (int index = 0; index < arraySize; index++)
      {
        aPtr[index] = right.aPtr[index];
      }
    }
    return *this;
}

This is sample of a member function in a much larger program. The goal of the program is to demonstrate that during assignment you have to use operator overloading as opposed to a construction operator in initialization. The point of it is if I assigned the following:

NumberArray a, b;
a = {1, 2, 3}
b = {2}
a = b