At which point is gravity inconsistent with quantum mechanics?

In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges of combining gravity and quantum mechanics, particularly in terms of the QFT Lagrangian and the Einstein field equation. Some potential solutions, such as string theory, are mentioned but it is noted that these do not automatically yield the Einstein field equations. The conversation also mentions the concept of renormalization in QFT and suggests some reading materials for further understanding. Ultimately, the importance of learning QFT, GR, and string theory for their own sake is emphasized.
Gerenuk
TL;DR Summary
Some beginners questions for the path to understand challenges of quantum gravity.
I'd like to understand how gravity does not combine with quantum mechanics. At least there is no accepted theory of quantum gravity, so I assume it is not solved? I'm only starting to learn QFT and eventually GR. Maybe, someone can already outline where those theories fail to combine and comment on the following thoughts (ideally in terms of concrete equations).

My understanding is that QFT has a Lagrangian describing all of the physics. And GR has the Einstein field equation. Shouldn't both describe some algebra to calculate "what happens" and the task is to find an algebra which encompasses both? Is that correct?

Or is there more than the QFT Lagrangian, because in canonical quantization there are these weird steps of making a coordinate dependent Hamiltonian and then replacing some terms by operators? Why are these operators not already in the Lagrangian anyway?