Basic Theory of Field Extensions - Exercise from D&F ....

In summary, the conversation is about a question regarding Exercise 1 in Section 13.1 of Dummit and Foote's "Field Theory" book. The exercise involves finding the inverse of a given polynomial and the discussion focuses on the role of irreducibility in the calculation. It is clarified that the irreducibility of the polynomial ensures that the inverse lies in a specific field and not the base field.
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB
I am reading Dummit and Foote, Chapter 13 - Field Theory.

I am currently studying Section 13.1 : Basic Theory of Field Extensions

I need some help with an aspect of Exercise 1 of Section 13.1 ... ...

Exercise 1 reads as follows:
View attachment 6597
My attempt at a solution is as follows:\(\displaystyle p(x) = x^3 + 9x + 6\) is irreducible by Eisenstein ... ...Now consider \(\displaystyle (x^3 + 9x + 10) = (x + 1) ( x^2 - x + 10) \)
and note that \(\displaystyle (x^3 + 9x + 10) = (x^2 + 9x + 6) + 4\) ... ...

Now \(\displaystyle \theta\) is a root of \(\displaystyle (x^3 + 9x + 6)\) so that ...\(\displaystyle ( \theta + 1) ( \theta^2 - \theta +10) = ( \theta^3 + 9 \theta + 6) + 4 = 0 +4 = 4 \)Thus \(\displaystyle ( \theta + 1)^{-1} = \frac{ ( \theta^2 - \theta +10) }{4}\) ... ...Is that correct?

... BUT ... if it is correct I am most unsure of exactly where in the calculation we depend on \(\displaystyle p(x)\) being irreducible ...Can someone please explain where exactly in the above calculation we depend on \(\displaystyle p(x)\) being irreducible?Note that I am vaguely aware that we are calculating in \(\displaystyle \mathbb{Q} ( \theta )\) ... which is isomorphic to \(\displaystyle \mathbb{Q} [x] / ( p(x) )\) ... if \(\displaystyle p(x)\) is irreducible ...