Battery Powered Nichrome wire Heater help

In summary: Is it just for general use, or specifically for a specific purpose? This is for a specific purpose, I am going to be heating a liquid so that it can be used in a different project.
hbard21
Hello, I am new to this and need some help designing a project of mine.

I am trying to build a small battery powered heater using nichrome wire. I am going to be heating a liquid within a coiled copper tube and plan on heating it by wrapping the tube in nichrome wire.

Since this is a small project I need it to battery powered.

I am not sure about the exact temperature I wish to reach, but it is in between 120-200 degrees fahrenheit.

Also, I want this to heat up as fast as possible, so as I am aware the thinner gauge the wire, the faster it heats up, but I have also herd that thinner wire tends to break. However, since I am only heating it up to around 200 degrees, will this be a problem?

Basically what I need help with is what gauge wire I should be using and how much battery power will it take to heat it. Since it is small scale I was planning on using the smallest batteries possible, but this is just a prototype, so if someone could just tell me what voltage of battery I would need that helps just as much.

The tube in which the nichrome will be wrapped around will be around 3/8 of an inch thick.

Also, I have herd that the shorter the distance of wire, the faster it will heat. In my case, I want this heater to heat as fast as possible, hopefully in between 0 to 10 seconds. Therefor I have been considering dividing the nichrome wire that is to be wrapped around the tube to be sectioned off and powered independently from the next section, so it will heat up faster.

Please, I would appreciate any information and input anyone has to offer, thank you!

Engineering news on Phys.org
hbard21 said:
Hello, I am new to this and need some help designing a project of mine.