Boundary between a particle in two energy states

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of placing a cube of particles in a ground state on top of another cube with the same particles in a higher energy state. The question is whether there would be a barrier effect in this scenario and if the particles on the interface would swap energy states. The response explains that the system would reach a thermodynamic equilibrium based on the overall energy and allowable states.
Rikrik
Hi I'm new to quantum mechanics, Looking for some help regarding a concept i am struggling to solve. I am curious if I had a cube of particles in a ground state and another cube with the same particle in a higher energy state.

If I placed one upon another, is there anything in quantum mechanics that would produce a barrier type effect.

Say if the top cube is in the ground state, Would the particles on the interface between each cube swap energy states and then swap straight back as the majority of the cube has a energy state weighted towards the ground state, some sort of sudo super positioning.

Kind regards,
Rick.

Physics news on Phys.org
:welcome:

I think you need to be more specific about the physical scenario you have in mind. In general, a system of particles will reach a thermodynamic equilibrium, based on the overall energy and the allowable states for the system.

Likes vanhees71

1. What is the boundary between a particle in two energy states?

The boundary between a particle in two energy states refers to the point at which the particle transitions from one energy state to another. This can occur due to external factors, such as the application of energy, or internal factors, such as the decay of an unstable particle.

2. How is the boundary between energy states determined?