Building an electric using a 3 phase 40 hp AC motor

In summary, the conversation is discussing the use of an electric motor, specifically a 3 phase 40 hp AC motor, for a mechanical engineering project. The motor must be submerged in oil and produce 8000W-10000W of heat. The question is whether an existing radiator can be used as a heat exchanger or if an engine oil cooler is needed. The system is also to be pressurized and will likely require a pump for proper flow. It is mentioned that the radiator may have too much restriction for the oil to flow properly, but there is no mechanical limitation to using it.
d_oliph
hi
im a mechanical engineering student, and we are building an electric using a 3 phase 40 hp AC motor, which is oil cooled. The motor must be submerged in oil that is then circulated... the motor will produce up to 8000W-10000W of heat. does anyone know if it would be possible to use the existing radiator as the heat exchanger or would an engine oil cooler be required. Also due to limited power availible could the fluid circulate by thermsyphon

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF, D Oliph.
I suppose that it would depend primarily upon the consistency of the oil. A radiator made for water/glycol might have too much restriction in the passages for decent flow. Automatic transmission or engine oil coolers should work, but you might need more than one to dissipate enough heat.
This might be irrelevant, but is the system to be pressurized the way an engine coolant system is? If so, I don't think that oil or tranny coolers will handle it.

edit: Oops... I missed your last question until now. I'm pretty sure that you'll need a pump. You'll also have to match your oil lines to the radiator inlet and outlet ports, which will require a bit of brazing (unless you have huge lines all the way).

Last edited: