CAD in aerospace engineering

In summary, aerospace engineers commonly use CAD and analysis software such as CATIA, SOLIDWORKS, CREO, ANSYS, ABAQUS, and NASTRAN for their projects. These programs offer a range of solutions for CAD, CAM, CAE, and FEA purposes. SolidWorks is popular for 3D modeling, while ANSYS is recommended for intense analysis. The choice of software ultimately depends on the specific modeling problem at hand.
Monsterboy
What are the CAD and analysis softwares most widely used by Aerospace engineers?

Physics news on Phys.org
CATIA provides enough CAD/CAM/CAE solutions,I'm a aerospace graduate and have been using it for my projects, i'd also like to suggest SOLID WORKS & CREO for faster modelling solutions, if you want to do intense analysis of a model ANSYS is recommended.

We use SolidWorks in my department. CATIA seems to be common in industry. (At least for parametric modeling...)

The structures people here like ABAQUS for FEA. For certain cases custom code is also used. I'm not a structures person.

What about NX CAD ,NASTRAN?

Never heard of NX CAD.

NASTRAN has been around for ages. It is a general purpose FE program. Can be used for structural analysis, but it can also tackle other field problems by solving PDEs using a finite element procedure.

From what I've seen SolidWorks is common for the construction of 3d models, but it isn't great for actual FEM. For FEM work, a lot of the people I know use Ansys.

It ultimately depends on the actual, concrete modeling problem that you are trying to solve.

1. What is CAD and how is it used in aerospace engineering?

CAD stands for computer-aided design and it is a software tool used to create 2D and 3D models of objects. In aerospace engineering, CAD is used to design and simulate aircraft and spacecraft components, systems, and structures. It allows engineers to visualize and test their designs before physically building them, saving time and resources.