Calculating electron and hole population in a semiconductor

In summary, the conversation discusses basic calculations for semiconductors, specifically calculating and graphing the energy of electrons and holes based on magnetic field and state, as well as calculating the electron and hole population. The speaker also asks for guidance on solving these problems and would appreciate knowing what steps they could take.
Gigi555
I'm very new to semiconductors. I want to do basic calculations. How would I go about calculating and graphing the energy of the electrons and holes given the magnetic field and the state.

Also, how would I do the same for the electron and hole population.

Physics news on Phys.org
Gigi555 said:
I'm very new to semiconductors. I want to do basic calculations. How would I go about calculating and graphing the energy of the electrons and holes given the magnetic field and the state.

Also, how would I do the same for the electron and hole population.
What have you tried so far to solve these types of problems? It would help us in knowing where you need help.

Related to Calculating electron and hole population in a semiconductor

1. How do you calculate the electron and hole population in a semiconductor?

The electron and hole population in a semiconductor can be calculated using the following formula:
n = Nc * e(EF-EC)/kT
p = Nv * e(EV-EF)/kT
Where n and p are the electron and hole densities, Nc and Nv are the effective densities of states in the conduction and valence bands, EC and EV are the energies of the conduction and valence bands, EF is the Fermi energy, k is the Boltzmann constant, and T is the temperature in Kelvin.

2. What factors affect the electron and hole population in a semiconductor?