Calculating Friction between Tapered Cylinders: A Math & Engineering Challenge

In summary, Friction torque can be minimized by maintaining a clearance between inner and outer buckets.
rob barbowski
Hi everyone: I need the brain of an engineer if anyone out there cares to help. I have a masters in Math from UofT but could use some knowledge from the smartest people- Engineers, I am now an experienced builder and yes everyone, we need smart people doing construction too- my math degree has facilitated my work as most people in construction lack brains...

I would like to know how engineers calculate the force of friction between surfaces but in a not so trivial context: I understand the logic of friction and calculating it when given a mass and a coefficient of static and kinetic friction, but my question is not so simple like OAC Physics I believe.

Q: how do we calculate friction considering surface area with two identical substances, in this case, slightly tapered CYLINDERS. consider this: I have one tapered cylinder inside another that is identical- like stacking buckets or plastic cups. i understand that if mass inside the top bucket increases by filling it with a liquid, it exerts lateral pressure on the sides of the elastic container and the container deforms slightly- this increases the horizontal force exerted on the container it is within/contained and therefore the frictional force between the two objects increases.

How is this force calculated? If i add water to a bucket and its within another bucket, how do we determine the increased frictional force between the two buckets? I think its a function of contact surface area of the objects with the mass of the substance added (uniformly distributed in the bucket) but i am not an engineer... If anyone can tell me how to calculate this, even roughly, it would be greatly appreciated- using math would be helpful as i am quite good at it.