Calculating Reynolds number for a wind tunnel

In summary, the mechanical engineering student is looking for help from others with calculating a Reynolds number for a wind tunnel. He has found himself at a loose end and is asking for help. He has found that a unit Reynolds number is useless to him since he needs to calculate a specific number for a model of an airfoil.
Mr.hev
Hi All! as you can see I'm new here! i signed up in order to ask for a wee bit of help with my thesis! (now don't get me wrong I am not exactly asking anyone to write it for me!) I've found myself at a small bit of a loose end here, as a mechanical engineering student i am perfectly capable of working out reynolds numbers for pipes of any dimensions but in a square wind tunnel i haven't a clue how to go about it and it would be easier to get blood from a stone than get help from my fluids lecturer (not saying anything bad about the man, great lecturer just impossible to track down when he might have a free 5 mins to go through something! )

the last time i spoke to him about it he said something along the lines of "boundary layer, use this size, substitute this for the diameter of the pipe" this conversation lasted approximately 5 seconds before he had to shoot to his next class so i didnt have a chance to ask him for any more detail on how to do this!

So, if there is anyone amongst you here that feel like they might be able to help me out on this one and explain how one goes about calculating this either with a quick example using hypothetical figures or just a quick, logical shakedown of how to calculate what i need it would be much appreciated!

(just in case anyone feels generous about helping, could you state what you are referring to with different variables, i have found that different countries use slightly different letters etc than what i might be used to and i need to get this sorted out pretty quickly!)