Calculating the load on planetary gear from driving torque

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of solid works file and driving sun gear torque to calculate the load on the contact point for planetary gears. The force on the planetary gears and ring gear teeth is determined by 1/3 of the input torque and the pitch diameter of the input shaft gear. The spider connection is mentioned but deemed irrelevant to the calculation. The question also asks if there is a general equation that can be used without knowing the power and rpm.
Inneedofhelp
Hello,

I am very new to gears I am fairly confused about planetary gears. I want to know the load on the gears contact point between the sun and the planets and the planets and the ring, assuming the ring not moving. Given I have the solid works file ,the pressure angle, and the gear ratios, I can easily calculate the distances, teeth numbers, etc. I also know the initial driving torque of the sun gear.
So, my question is, utilizing the solid works file and the driving sun gear torque how do I calculate the load on the contact point for each of the gears? Is there a general equation I can use without knowing the power and the rpm?

Thank You
1.PNG
2.PNG

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Anyone?

Your diagram omits the spider connection for the three planetary gears; but, of your question that is really irrelevant. The force on the three planetary gear's tooth and central input shaft gear tooth will be 1/3 x input torque x 1/2 x pitch diameter of the input shaft gear and will be same for both the inside and outside gear teeth on each planetary gear and on the ring gear teeth that does gears are contacting.

What is the formula for calculating the load on planetary gear from driving torque?

The formula for calculating the load on planetary gear from driving torque is Load = (Torque x Gear Ratio) / (Pitch Diameter x Pressure Angle).

What is the gear ratio in planetary gear systems?