Calculating the Speed of a Space Dragon's Tail: Dr Who Episode Analysis

In summary, the Moon has grown in size, and the dragon took about 1 second to flap it's tail half the distance that appears to be equal to the diameter of the Earth. The speed at which the dragon wags it's tail is 9000km/s.
Algr
Last week's Dr Who episode "Kill the Moon" infected me with stupid, and now I am compelled to try to calculate the speed at which the dragon wags it's tail.

Observational data:
1) Earth's moon had grown to have Earth gravity at this point, so I am assuming that it was also the size of the Earth when it turned into a puff cloud and vanished.

2) The dragon took about 1 second to flap it's tail half the distance that appears to be equal to the diameter of the Earth.

Looking up the size of Earth, I get (13000/2)/1= 6500 kps.

Obviously I've never tried anything quite like this before, how badly did I do?

Physics news on Phys.org
Algr said:
Dr Who(...) infected me with stupid, and now I am compelled
That's probably the most accurate description ever of the Dr Who phenomenon.

I haven't seen that one. So the Moon has grown in size?
I presume the internal composition hasn't changed, though. This'd mean it needs to be larger than Earth for the same gravity, due to lower density. From memory, the density ratio is something like 3/5, so the Moon radius would need to be 5/3 times larger than Earth's. That's about 10000km. So by this estimate it's 10000km/s.

However, it's *cough* unreasonable to assume the Moon wouldn't get compressed under its, now higher, gravity, so its denisty would be higher than originally. How much it'd compress is something I can't fathom, but by pulling a number out of my behind I'd give it a 10% increase in density, leading to 10% change in radius = 9000km. And the tail swing is at 9000km/s.