Can a 1 MPA valve handle the weight on a pneumatically adjustable massage table?

In summary, the idea of an air lift table that is pneumatically adjustable is appealing, but there are a few challenges that need to be addressed.
Jason Doyle
Hey guys,

First off, Id like to say that I am not an engineering student, I study Physical Therapy. I am wanting to make an old massage table I have pneumatically adjustable height wise. I was thinking of putting a 16 mm bore pneumatic cylinder inside each leg (Or possibly replacing the leg entirely with a 32 mm bore 300 stroke)

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/16mm-Bore-300mm-Stroke-Double-Action-Single-Rod-Pneumatic-Air-Cylinder/322047953457?hash=item4afb8dca31:g:Fe0AAOSwnCFaSyoL

Starting from a foot pump or bicycle pump, running hose into a 1 way or speed control valve 1 MPA (so the air pressure stays in the cylinder and the table height is maintained until valve is released) and then to a Y connector which would split to 2 more y Connectors and then run to each cylinder (Diagram Attached). Do you guys think this idea will work? I am curious if a 1 MPA valve will hold the weight of a person, as well as the M5 or hose Y connectors without bursting? Any advise you can give would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• WIN_20180330_15_33_47_Pro.jpg
    WIN_20180330_15_33_47_Pro.jpg
    58.6 KB · Views: 555
  • WIN_20180330_15_34_06_Pro.jpg
    WIN_20180330_15_34_06_Pro.jpg
    44.1 KB · Views: 542
  • Diagram.png
    Diagram.png
    13 KB · Views: 659
Engineering news on Phys.org
Whether you can use a 1 Mpa valve depends upon the size of your selected 4 cylinders vs. the maximum load expected to be applied on the table. The formula to determine this is Max valve and system pressure = (Table Load x safety factor) / ((d^2 x π /4 ) x 4 cylinders)
where: d = bore diameter of the selected cylinder.