Can a neutral insulator be attracted to a charged object?

In summary, the conversation discusses a multiple choice question about a neutral object being attracted to an electrically charged rod. The answer key states that the correct answer is A, but the teacher questions if it should actually be B or C. The teacher then explains the concept of induced charge separation and how it relates to conductors and insulators, referencing a link about polarization. It is concluded that the correct answer is actually C, as both conductors and insulators can experience some level of electron shifting when attracted to a charged object.
jumbogala

Homework Statement

Hi all. I'm a teacher and one of my students asked me a question I couldn't answer today. It's a multiple choice question:

A neutral object is attracted to an electrically charged rod. The two are not touching. The neutral object:

A. is a conductor
B. is an insulator
C. could be either a conductor or an insulator

The answer key said A is correct.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Reasoning of the answer key:
  • The neutral object is attracted to the rod because of an induced charge separation within the object.
  • Induced charge separations involve electrons shifting within the object.
  • In an insulator, electrons are fixed in place and cannot shift, so this object must be a conductor. Thus the answer is A.
However, earlier in the course, I showed the students that a charged rod can attract neutral pieces of paper. Paper is an insulator... so what gives? Is it just a bad test question?

Here is my guess: Perhaps within insulators you can still have some electron shifting, enough to attract them to charged things. However maybe the attraction would be weak. For a conductor there would be a lot more electron shifting and a stronger attraction. So should the answer to the test question actually be B?

Physics news on Phys.org