Can a single nuclear bomb power the world for 2 trillion years?

In summary: The power output of the Sun per second is about 3.828x10^26 watts, which is the amount of energy it releases in one second. The total energy released per second by the Sun is much higher, but it is spread out over its massive surface area, resulting in a lower power output.To compare, the Three Gorges Dam has a maximum power output of 22,500 megawatts, which is 22.5 gigawatts. This is much lower than the Sun's power output, but it is still considered to be a very powerful source of energy.Now, for the nuke. The peak power output of the largest
SamP37
Helly everyone.
I'm new in physics and I don't understand many things there. What interests me the most is energy generation.
I was mostly reading Wiki articles, and I found something I couldn't understand, so I'm asking for help.
According to wiki, peak power output of the largest nuke ever was 33.8 Yottawatt. Which is 1 percent of luminosity of the Sun.
So, my first question is -- how can something that was builded and exploded on Earth be that powerful? I mean, Sun is the colossal thermonuclear reactor, that works for billions of years. And one bomb rivals that reactor? Something is not right here.
And the second question -- according to wiki, average total power consumption of the world is 16 TW, i.e that one nuke can 'feed' the world for approximately 2 trillion years. ...How? Why can't anyone put at least, I don't know, 0,00001% of that bomb power to work? That would be more than enough.
Like I said, I don't understand a lot here, so I'd really appreciate, if you will explain it to me. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
SamP37 said:
So, my first question is -- how can something that was builded and exploded on Earth be that powerful?

It's important to understand that power is work over time or energy over time. In other words, ##power = \frac{energy}{time}##