Can a Toy Helicopter Be Programmed for Automatic Hovering?

In summary: It's a simple physical adjustment that can help to stabilize the helicopter.the reason I ask, this can be a very complicated controls problem depending on the constraints and end goals.But even when it's hover, it's not staying in position, and goes diagonal. Any attemp to change angles just make it worse.Try adjusting the weight trim . It's a simple physical adjustment that can help to stabilize the helicopter.
Maor_M
Heya everybody,
I am trying to write a code that will make a toy helicopter to hover. I have cameras that are constantly tracking it, reporting at real time about it's position and angles.
I have control on the yaw (Z axis rotatio), pitch (forward/backward movement), and rotors speed.
I have basic knowledge in physics, so I ask two things:
1. Is it possible??
2. Someone can explain me what are the physical forces working on the helicopter, and if there are equations to balance it??

Thanks bodies...

Engineering news on Phys.org
1) Yes, of course it's possible. That's one of the most significant things about a helicopter, is its ability to hover.

2) Well, there are basically two forces, assuming that you keep it stationary in the horizontal direction. There is gravity, and then there is the lift of the helicopter caused by the spinning rotors "throwing" air underneath them.

Dishsoap said:
1) Yes, of course it's possible. That's one of the most significant things about a helicopter, is its ability to hover.

2) Well, there are basically two forces, assuming that you keep it stationary in the horizontal direction. There is gravity, and then there is the lift of the helicopter caused by the spinning rotors "throwing" air underneath them.
But even when it's hover, it's not staying in position, and goes diagonal. Any attemp to change angles just make it worse.

Maor_M said:
Heya everybody,