Can an object maintain uniform motion without any external force?

In summary, a Geoscience student sought help with understanding and testing the law of uniform motion. They devised an experiment involving driving a car in a series of circles and found that the car sped up when it straightened out, indicating the application of acceleration. However, their flat earther acquaintance pointed out the need to account for friction and drag on the vehicle due to centrifugal force. The student is now seeking help with calculating the forces involved and the necessary acceleration to maintain uniform motion. However, it seems unlikely that their flat earther acquaintance will accept any evidence presented to them.
Silverbeam
Hi, I’m new here and I signed up to ask for some help with a physics problem.

I’m not trained, nor am I receiving training, in physics. I’m a bachelor of Geoscience student halfway through my course.

The problem I have is with understanding and testing the law of uniform motion (I think that’s the right thing to call it). I know someone who is extremely sceptical of gravity and orbital mechanics. Yes, he is a flat earther, but a particularly intelligent one, and he disputes the concept of acceleration being required to keep a body in uniform circular motion.

To make his point he asked what a car driving around and around in a circle would do if it were accelerating. He says it must speed up.